East African Legislative Assembly

AGORA administrator's picture

The East African Legislative Assembly (EALA) is the legislative organ of the East African Community (EAC). Established in November 2001, EALA began with three member states (which included 9 elected members from each). It then grew to five member states (first Kenya, Tanzania and Uganda, then Burundi and Rwanda) with 45 elected members, plus seven ex-official members (the Ministers responsible for EAC affairs from the Partner States, the Secretary General of the Community and the Counsel to the Community). The Second Assembly was inaugurated on 5 June 2007 and aims to consolidate the achievements of the First EALA and maintain a regional presence and engagement on legislative and development concerns in East Africa in order to fulfil their mandate in the EAC integration agenda as specified under the EAC Treaty.



Project Mapping